Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever had a dream that seemed far-fetched, only to have it come true in the most unexpected way? I became a part of this lucky sisterhood a few weeks ago. You see, my dream has always been to have my work featured in an art gallery and it is through my discovery of an amazing artist’s creative use of my small leather bound journals that has brought the unexpected realization of my dream.

The creative artist is Daniel Lai. And the vehicle for the realization of my dream is through Daniel’s use of my little leather bound books in his one-of-a kind book sculptures. b

Daniel and his art are amazing. Born and raised in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Daniel moved to the United States in late December of 1999. Ever in pursuit of knowledge and beauty he is a life-long learner. His current exploration is engaging in the pursuit of a Ph.D. in Criminology. When he isn’t nose deep in a mighty academic tome, he is creating art out of these vessels of knowledge.

As a young child, bound with the endless creative energy of youth he would fold the pages of his textbooks into intricate sculptures. It is this elixir of youth, books, and worldly muses that were the impetus of his love of sculpting and you have a master book artist! a

Daniels book sculptures are often adorned with a clay figure, keys and sometimes the small leather bound books. These are the small leather bound books that I create in my shop, The Nib and Quill. Many of Daniel’s works can be seen at Kenjio, his Etsy store.

He has been featured on T.V., and his work has been published in numerous books and magazines. Although his work is stunning online, you must see his work in person. Just to name a few places, his book sculptures can be found at The Bennet Gallery in Nashville, TN and The Haen Gallery in Asheville, NC.

Daniel’s next show is at the Piedmont Park Art Fest, Atlanta GA. August 15th and 16th. 

